How to Enable or Disable Public Folder Sharing on Windows 10

If you own a Windows 10 PC, you must have noticed that it comes with some pre-installed folders. Some of you might have questions regarding these folders and what they do. While some might not have paid attention to the same, others have built-up a curiosity to know about the same.

Windows Operating System consists of some Public Folders that allows you to share files and folders using the same PC. Not only this, but it also enables you to share data with people using different systems but shared networks. Therefore, any folder can be shared automatically with others having access to your Public Folder. A Public Folder is present in the same Drive as your Windows, which is usually C:\Users\Public.

Notably, these folders can be accessed by any local user on a Windows PC. In simple words, Public Folder is an essential part of your Windows computer as these files cut down the need to connect and forward files on emails or use any external devices.

Furthermore, these Public Folders have a bunch of sub-folders that keep your data organized. Until or unless you add the data to the same, the folders remain empty. It is essential to know that the Public Folders get disabled by default. Therefore, you’ll have to enable the same each time before starting to share.

Enabling or Disabling the Public Folder Sharing on a Windows PC

Even though anyone can open and work with the files stored in the Public Folder, you’ll still have to go through a set of permissions. Make sure you’re permitting the right person as any changes made will be reflected on your computer as well. On the other hand, when Public Folder sharing is disabled, only those users having a user account and password will work with the same.

The steps to enable the Public Folder sharing on your Windows PC are:

  1. Go to the ‘Start’ menu and launch the ‘Control Panel.’
  2. Select the ‘Network and Internet’ option from the menu.
  3. Click on the ‘Network and Sharing Center’ option in the next window.
  4. Select the ‘Change Advanced Sharing Settings’ option from the left toolbar.
  5. Click on the drop-down icon for ‘All Networks’ to expand the menu.
  6. Locate the ‘Public Folder Sharing’ section and tap on ‘Turn on sharing so anyone with network access can read and write files in the Public Folders’ option.
  7. Hit the ‘Save Changes’ button.

Note: You may enable ‘Password Protected Sharing’ for additional security.

In case you want to disable the Public Folder sharing, you can do it by following the same steps and selecting the ‘Turn off sharing so anyone with network access can read and write files in the Public Folders’ option under the ‘All Networks’ section.

All those who were not familiar with the concept of Public Folder sharing might have a clear vision about the same by now. It is a handy feature when it comes to working in an organization or conducting a group project.

Jaxson Harry is a creative person who has been writing blogs and articles about cybersecurity. He writes about the latest updates regarding mcafee.com/activate and how it can improve the work experience of users. His articles have been published in many popular e-magazines, blogs, and websites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *